

International Association for Hydrogen Energy Nuclear Hydrogen Division

Monday, June 20, 2011, at 18:30 Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH) - Room AIOLOS 3rd International Conference on Hydrogen Production

Minutes of Meeting

Attendees: Youngjoon Shin (nyjshin@kaeri.re.kr; Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute)

- Calin Zamfirescu (calin.zamfirescu@uoit.ca; Univ. of Ontario Inst. of Technology, Canada)
- Ioan Iordache (iordace.ioan@icsi.ro; Romanian National Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Centre)
- Ibrahim Dincer (ibrahim.dincer@uoit.ca; Univ. of Ontario Inst. of Technology, Canada)
- Dmitri Bessarabou (dmitri.bessarabov@nwu.ac.za; North-West University, South Africa)
- Elli Varkaraki (evarkara@cres.gr; CRES, Greece)
- Oleksii Dudnyk (aldudnik@bigmir.net; CETI, Ukraine)
- Viktor Zhovtianskyi (zhovt@ukr.net; IG AS, Ukraine)
- Frank Allebrod (fkal@risoe.dtu.dk; Aalborg University, Denmark)
- Janis Kleperis (kleperis@latnet.lv; University of Latvia, Latvia)
- Gvozden Tasic (Vina Institute of Nuclear Sciences, Serbia)
- Necat Ozgur (necatozgur@yahoo.com; PASA, Turkey)
- Greg Naterer (Chair; greg.naterer@uoit.ca; Univ. of Ontario Inst. of Technology, Canada)

1. Approval of the agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

2. Minutes of the meeting of November 8, 2010

The minutes of the meeting of November 8, 2010, were approved as circulated.

2. Welcoming remarks

Greg Naterer presented the background and history of the IAHE Nuclear Hydrogen Division (NHD). Committee members presented suggestions to expand the activities of NHD such as specialized sessions at upcoming conferences, and participation by other researchers in countries with active nuclear hydrogen programs.

3. Presentations on nuclear hydrogen programs

Presentations were given by the following committee members on the nuclear hydrogen programs in their countries.

- Ukraine (Oleksii Dudnyk)
- Latvia (Janis Kleperis)
- Turkey (Necat Ozgur)
- South Korea (Youngjoon Shin)
- Greece (Elli Varkaraki)
- Serbia (Gvozden Tasic)
- Iordache Ioan (Romania)

The presentations gave a high-level overview of the hydrogen program in each country, with an emphasis on technologies relevant to nuclear hydrogen production, such as electrolysis and thermochemical cycles.

4. Best paper award

The terms of reference were established for a Best Paper Award of the Nuclear Hydrogen Division.

- The Best Paper Award of the IAHE Nuclear Hydrogen Division is awarded for excellence in the technical content of a conference paper on topics pertaining to nuclear hydrogen production including thermochemical cycles, electrolysis, and related elements such as safety and materials science. The award consists of a Certificate of Merit.
- An awards subcommittee recommends the award winner based on the following selection criteria:
 - technical content, quality and originality;
 - presentation of results in an exemplary style;
 - overall outstanding contribution to the field of nuclear hydrogen production.
- The best paper from the WHEC conference would be selected in even years, while the best paper would be selected in odd years from the ICH2P conference.

Members of the awards subcommittee will review and rank the ICH2P papers related to nuclear hydrogen production, based on the above awards criteria. Then the winning paper will be recommended for approval by the Nuclear Hydrogen Division.

5. Other business

Updates to the Division website under the main IAHE homepage were discussed. Updates will be prepared by Greg Naterer in consultation with committee members.

The next meeting will be held at the World Hydrogen Energy Conference, June 3 - 6, 2012, Toronto.

6. Adjournment